Crazy About: Zumba!®

Well, I have already fallen behind on my goal of being a regular blog writer. Forgiven? Wonderful. Now on to the post.

Going forward, I will be blogging on a regular basis about things that I love. Activities, products, restaurants, services, etc., that make my heart go tick-tock.

So what get’s the honor of my first “Crazy About” post? ZUMBA®!

I had never heard about Zumba until our church’s new Worship & Music Director, Tawny, told me she was a certified Zumba® instructor and was leading classes in the area. I had an interest in joining fitness classes, but was always intimidated to actually sign up for one. Tawny said participants are often smiling while they are doing Zumba®. Smiling in the same sentence as  something about working out? That’s crazy talk.

Before I signed up, I checked out YouTube and saw this video. Well, I knew I sure as heck wouldn’t look like THAT… but it did look fun. I also checked out Zumba’s website and the slogan pulled me in: “Ditch the workout, Join the party!” I’m pretty sure that’s been my personal slogan for the past few years. I was pretty sure I had found the equivalent of a workout-soulmate.

I’ve been taking Tawny’s classes at least once or twice a week for the past six months. I am CRAZY ABOUT it.  

Want to know more? (from Zumba® website):

The Zumba® program fuses hypnotic Latin rhythms and easy-to-follow moves to create a one-of-a-kind fitness program that will blow you away.

The routines feature interval training sessions where fast and slow rhythms and resistance training are combined to tone and sculpt your body while burning fat. Add some Latin flavor and international zest into the mix and you’ve got a Zumba® class!

What workout/fitness activities are you crazy about?

Disclaimer: I was not paid or compensated in any way for this post. I have paid for my own attendance to Zumba® events.

This entry was posted in Crazy About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

